Fayemi Sworn In As Ekiti Gov, Vows To Probe Fayose

Kayode Fayemi was yesterday sworn in as governor of Ekiti State and vowed to probe the administration of his predecessor, Ayo Fayose.

Fayemi, the immediate past Minister of Mines and Steel Development, said his second coming was not for vengeance, but to bring the culture of prudence and financial propriety to bear in the governance of the state.

He said the past government took N170 billion loans for projects, noting however that this would not stop his administration from delivering dividends of democracy to the citizens.

He said Ekiti under him would not degenerate to the level of allowing school children to pay taxes in their quests to receive formal education .

He promised to reinstate the N5,000 social security for the elderly and make tremendous positive impacts in the areas of agriculture, social investment and economy.

“In the last four years, Ekiti was governed by a rudderless, inept and egregiously corrupt government, which was led by those who deceived our people through the instrument of stomach infrastructure,” he said.

President Muhammadu Buhari, represented by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha,  expressed confidence that Fayemi would restore the dignity of Ekiti state through good governance.

Buhari, who promised to support Fayemi in the development of the state, said: “The Federal Government has given supports to states in the areas of bailouts, budget support , ecological funds and Paris Club refund, of which Ekiti was a beneficiary. We have extended the standard rail project to Ekiti and the construction of the Federal Secretariat will soon be completed.  As of today, 11,000 Ekiti indigenes are benefiting from the N-power programme of this administration.”

Present at the inauguration ceremony incuded former Lagos State Governor Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Chief Bisi Akande, National Security Adviser  Babagana Monguno, Minister of Agriculture Audu Ogbeh, former Senate President Ken Nnamani as well as the governors of Ogun, Oyo, Kebbi, Kaduna, Lagos, Ondo and Bauchi States.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *