Two governorship candidates have emerged in the Ogun state chapter of the All Progressives Congress ( APC) following two parallel primaries held on Wednesday.

While the state chairman of the party, Chief Derin Adebiyi declared the House of Representatives member Adekunle Akinlade as the winner, the electoral panel sent by the National Working Committee declared oil mogul, Prince Dapo Abiodun the winner.

The two groups claimed they held the authentic primary as ordered by the NWC.

Muhammad Ndabawa, who led the NWC Electoral Committee members declared that Abiodun, who hails from Ogun East Senatorial District, scored 102,305 votes from the 236 wards across the 20 Local Governments to emerge the candidate.

According to Ndabawa, Jimi Lawal scored 51,153 votes, Abimbola Ashiru 29,764, Senator Gbenga Kaka 17,771, Abayomi Hunye 9,110 votes and Adekunle Akinlade 23, 443 votes.

Ndabawa said that the declaration of Abiodun as winner “is subject to ratification by the National Working Committee of the party”.

He also said he was not aware of the exercise that produced Akinlade.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *